Frameworks [External]

There is a range of digital competence frameworks available externally. The aim of this page is to summarise five of the main examples.

DigComp 2.0: The Digital Competence Framework for Citizens

The European Digital Competence Framework, also known as DigComp, offers a tool to improve citizen's digital competence. DigComp 2.1 is a further development of the Digital Competence Framework for Citizens. Based on the reference conceptual model published in DigComp 2.0, it presents 8 proficiency levels and examples of use applied to the learning and employment field.

Interesting to review in terms of it use of proficiency levels and the language used.


Google for Education certification

A skills (tools) focused approach with an external assessment and provided training materials.

The International School of Geneva has been G Suite for Education for 8+ years as the core of our online digital toolbox. Google Certified Educator Level 1 should be within the capabilities of all educators at the International School of Geneva. Level 2 is available for staff who wish to demonstrate their mastery of advanced technology integration skills.

International Baccalaureate

'MYP: From principles into practice' Appendix 5: Teaching with Technology states "Students need to develop technology literacy in order to thrive in an increasingly digital world". The appendix focuses upon the Agency, Information and Design (AID) framework as a way to help students and teachers increase their technology literacy.

Agency, Information and Design model
Appendix 5 - Teaching with technology.pdf

Teaching and learning with technology - an overview document produced by the International Baccalaureate.

ISTE Standards

"The ISTE (International Society for Technology in Education) Standards consist of five sets of standards and provide a framework for amplifying — or even transforming — digital age learning, teaching and leading."

These five sets of ISTE Standards work in concert to support students, educators and leaders with clear guidelines for the skills, knowledge and approaches they need to succeed in the digital age.

The ISTE Standards include:

The Essential Conditions are the 14 qualifications that must be in place before a school or district can achieve meaningful technology integration

DQ Institute in association with the World Economic Forum

"There is the digital age gap. The way children use technology is very different from adults. This gap makes it difficult for parents and educators to fully understand the risks and threats that children could face online."

Digital Intelligence (DQ) is a comprehensive set of technical, cognitive, and socio-emotional competencies that enable individuals to face the challenges of and adapt to the demands of digital life.